Beauty & Skincare · Hair

Favorites | Winter 2014 – 2015 | #1

Winter has come to an end! It’s about time. I’m a bit late but here are my favorite things from the past three months. I will do seasonal favorites instead of monthly favorites because I don’t buy that many things, that often. If I do them monthly, I’ll probably show you the same things every month.

Hair

Garnier Ultra Doux Reconstructing Mask

image

The first time I used this mask, my hair felt soft and moisturized. It didn’t strengthen my hair the way I expected it to but it did reduce breakage so I’m a fan. You definitely get your money’s worth since it’s so affordable. 7/10

Creme of Nature with Argan Oil from Morocco Strength and Shine Leave-in Conditioner

image

I am never letting this leave-in go! It is just perfect for my hair. I think it’s because it has protein in it. It smells amazing. I sometimes just spray it on my hair so I can smell it. If you’ve been on your hair journey for a little while then this is not your first time seeing this. 10/10 for me

Hask Macademia Oil

image

I did not expect much from this product. I stumbled upon it at Primark and the product junkie in me took over and bought it. It is a great lightweight oil. I use it before heat styling and in the days after and it does not weigh my hair down at all. It doesn’t even feel like an oil when I rub it in my hands. 9.5/10

Petit Marsaillais Anti-Dandruff Shampoo

image

Read why I love it here and here. 9.5/10

African Pride Shea Butter Miracle Moisture Intense Leave-In Conditionerimage

This product is great as a leave-in but I prefer it as a moisturizer/styler for curly styles. My sister is transitioning (stopping with relaxers and letting her natural hair grow) and it works really well on her hair. It’s for curly and transitioning hair but it works just fine on my relaxed hair and as the name says, it is very moisturizing. 9/10

Rasta Locks Twists Jamaican Mango and Lime Island Oilimage

My scalp became really dry after I installed my box braids because it was exposed to the weather. That is when this oil came in handy. I massage it om my scalp when I need it and it never disappoints. It smells nice (kinda artificial but it’s ok) and I think it is a lovely combo of oils. It contains mineral oil but I don’t mind. My scalp loves that. 7/10

Skin

Baking Soda

image

I ran out of facial scrub and I needed some, bad. I suddenly thought of using baking soda since it is good for so many things around the house. I did some research and apparently a million and two people thought of that before me. I now mix it with my cleanser, apply it to my face, let it sit for 30 seconds or so and voila! It works on my body too but I wouldn’t recommend it for dry skin. Body 9.5/10 face 8/10

The Body Shop Tea Tree Toner and Face Maskimage

I absolutely love these things!!! When I got these gifts from my sweet mom, I was so excited to use them. For some one with a tiny budget like myself this is a tiny bit on the pricey side but it is worth it. The toner is perfect for the oily parts of my face but it tends to dry out the dry areas. It stings when you apply it. 8/10

The mask is wonderful. It helped me get rid of the acne scares I had left from before my journey. It works well on both parts of my face this is gonna be a staple of mine. 10/10

Part 2 coming soon…

Thanks for reading

Djamila

2 thoughts on “Favorites | Winter 2014 – 2015 | #1

Leave a comment